Christmas Treats

Stuff I Made for Christmas

IMG_0205

Well, it’s over! Christmas is done and it’s time to start planning food for New Year’s Eve.

This isn’t going to be a long post at all nor will it provide recipes (except for the rocky road) as I have provided the recipes for most of these before…but I will tell you that the Christmas Cake is a Nigella Lawson one and can be found in her “Nigella Christmas” book – it’s to die for (the cake – not the book although the book is pretty special too)…with cocoa and Tia Maria, it has to be the best fruit cake I have ever tasted.

The Christmas Tree ice cream cake was a hit with the kids – young and old –  home made vanilla ice cream with green food colouring – and the Greek Shortbread recipe has previously been posted (way back at Easter…my fist blog post, I think!)

The Rocky Road is something I have been making for years and am not really sure of quantities but it’s around 200g milk chocolate – 75g dark chocolate – 25g butter – 50g mini marshmallows (pink and white) – 100g macadamia nuts – 25g dried cranberries – 50g shortbread biscuits (cut into bite sized pieces)…Melt chocolate and butter – combine marshmallows, crushed macadamia nuts & shortbreads as well as cranberries and add to melted chocolate. Pour into pan and chill for at least 2 hours – awesome!!!

IMG_0244

Christmas Day was lovely and personally, I don’t think I over indulged (in food or alcohol) – a first for me!

Boxing Day was an altogether different story – lots of great left overs and the Vodka and Pomegranate was being poured by 11am – now that is me!!!

Hope it was a great one for everyone – Happy New Year to all 🙂

Awesome Rocky Road!

Awesome Rocky Road!

Home made ice cream cake - so much fun!

Home made ice cream cake – so much fun!

Christmas fruit Cake with Cocoa and Tia Maria

Christmas fruit Cake with Cocoa and Tia Maria

Walnut Shortbreads with Icing Sugar

Walnut Shortbreads with Icing Sugar

3 thoughts on “Christmas Treats

  1. It helps to have a drinking buddy…and I did fall asleep on the couch after lunch – for 2 hrs! Drinking anywhere in Greece, from my experience, usually started with a 10am ouzo (too much even for me!) Have a great one 🙂

  2. By 11am? Wow. I just can’t drink before 9pm as I can’t deal with it during the day. One of the last times I did drink during lunch was in Iraklion, Crete (I know you know it’s in Crete. Others who may read this might not 🙂 and that was only a lager – nearly fell asleep at the table! Absolute light weight. Happy New Year to you, too.

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

