Make it Chocolate Please!

Chocolate Brownies

Monday is an unusual night for me to get home, cook dinner then bake something. No matter what my head thinks I should do or would like to do, my ass keeps dragging itself (and the rest of me) to the couch. My head kept telling me to go for a run, as exercise has been seriously lacking in my life lately…but my ass said “No!”…  and considering the aforementioned lack of exercise, my ass’ voice is gaining volume by the minute.

As if a chocolate conspiracy had mounted an all out attack on me, my partner casually dropped the “I feel like something for dessert and it needs to be chocolate” bomb and there I was, pulling out what I needed for these delish brownies! My ass it seems, responds favourably to chocolate brownies but not going for a run – funny that innit considering how fast it got itself off the couch and to the pantry!

This is based on a Donna Hay recipe but I used dark muscovado sugar instead of plain brown sugar and added chunks of  dark chocolate to the top of the mixture before baking – as if this wasn’t rich enough!

Damn! I wish I were that rich!

So they were delish and I only had one…and that’s the truth!

Ingredients

250g butter, chopped

200g dark chocolate

1 3/4 cups dark muscovado sugar (or brown sugar)

4 eggs

1/3 cup cocoa powder, sifted

1 1/4 cups plain flour (all purpose flour), sifted

1/4 tspn baking powder

Extra chocolate chunks

Method

Preheat oven to 160C (325F). Place the chocolate and butter in a saucepan over low heat and stir until smooth. Allow to cool slightly.

Place the sugar, eggs, cocoa, flour and baking powder in a bowl. Add the chocolate mixture and mix until combined.

Pour into a 20cm square tin lined with non – stick baking paper. Roughly chop chunks of chocolate, all different sizes and scatter over the top of the brownie mixture.

Bake for 40 – 50 mins or until an inserted skewer comes out clean. Allow to cool slightly in the tin before slicing.

My ass' best friend!

My ass’ best friend!

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Make it Chocolate Please!

    • Thanks for that! I would much rather eat brownies than go for a run any day! You have no idea how hard it is to get light and dark muscovado here…specialty stores only (if you’re lucky) and I stocked up…something very special about the taste of it…love it 🙂

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

