Sunday Night Pork In My Belly.

Orange, Garlic and Soy Pork Belly with White Bean Mash.

You would think that having a daughter who will turn 20yrs old this year,  I would have a lot of time up my sleeve to do my own thing…you would think, wouldn’t you?

Well, that’s not how it works around here. My daughter, you see, actually likes spending time at home with me. She teases and jokes about sticking me in a nursing home and hiding my Vodka but I think she really actually likes me! She must – she said so in her Mother’s Day card to me…

So, when she told me she was going to spend a whole 3 days at her dad’s, I did a little secret dance in my bedroom and felt all giddy inside. Finally, 3 days to myself…what would I do?

Well as it turned out, I didn’t do much at all. Which was wonderful. When I say I didn’t do much, I actually meant I didn’t leave the house much. I went out for drinks with the girls after work on Friday as there was no need to rush home to cook. I knew what I was having anyway, thanks to ‘foodisthebestshitever’ – WTF Nachos – for sure!

Those nachos were the bizz…

bubbly cheesy goodness with a lava of spicy beans underneath...

bubbly cheesy goodness with a lava of spicy beans underneath…

Thanks Graz for the best after drinks Friday night, absolutely no sharing dinner idea...

Thanks Graz for the best after drinks Friday night, absolutely no sharing dinner idea…

The pantry and fridge were already full in anticipation of this free weekend – so it was washing clothes, sitting outside with a Cosmo (it was a beautiful day) and flicking through cooking magazines and whiling away time on FB.

Back to reality today (after a great sleep in followed by an afternoon nap) and in went the pork belly with an orange, garlic and soy glaze for a slow roasting. Served with white bean mash – so yummy!

Yep, she walked in, slapped me on the arm, called me something and then we sat down and enjoyed a yummy Sunday night dinner – although, she said she didn’t like the mash.

Hmmm, I had moved out of home at her age…think I’m making it a bit too comfortable around here…

I managed to get one dodgy photo and then my phone died…sorry about that.

 

1619093_551801531607183_5746924359468754469_n

9 thoughts on “Sunday Night Pork In My Belly.

  1. The pork looks delicious! And nachos after a night out is just perfect. However, served on the way home from a night out is something I’ll never try again. There was an incident when I was in Scotland to study, and well, I wouldn’t have eaten it if I was sober…. your nachos look delish though! Thanks for sharing

    • Thanks Ann,
      I’d like to hear that story of what happened in Scotland 🙂 although I’m pretty sure I already know. After drinking late night food can be disastrous – I’m so glad these turned out well.
      Thanks for taking the time to comment 🙂

  2. Wow, that pork looks sooo good. Really juicy. Got a 23 yr old at home who doesn’t appear to be going anywhere any time soon, so my advice is to enjoy these weekends where you can, Helen.

    • Thanks Adam. It was really nice. Yeah I don’t think mine will be going anywhere anytime soon – she has it way too good…goes to uni, goes to work, saves money and goes on holidays…not a bad life at all.

  3. Holy shit that pork looks good. It makes me want to eat pork for breakfast… and I don’t even care that you didn’t post a recipe, I’ll work it out, cook it and give it a good home in my face! Smiley face.

  4. I kind of can’t believe that you have a twenty year old. Seriously, I can understand how your daughter wants to stay at home, you’re the coolest mother ever! Glad that you got to spend a few days on your own though. Time alone or just with girlfriends is indeed precious. Particularly if Nachos are involved (oh my gosh… they look amazing Helen!).

    • Yeah, I can’t believe she’s going to be 20 this year – I mean, I’m only 35! – lol…she is a very well looked after girl – only child – and she does not like cooking – she says it’s my fault because I’m apparently a “biatch in the kitchen.”
      It was a very relaxing, pottering type of weekend – very nice and I have to thank Mr. Graz for the nacho idea – just awesome and the best part was, I didn’t have to share.
      Have a great week my lovely Laura xx

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

