Damn…It’s hot!!!

Spicy BBQ Chicken & Lamb Chops

39C people! Melbourne is hot today! Tomorrow it’s going to get a lot cooler and it will rain…love Melbourne weather – keeps you on your toes!

Tried to keep the kidlets cool this afternoon in class. Poor  little 12 – 13 yr olds who had forgotten their water bottles and were a little exhausted after being stuck outside in the blistering heat! I had an unusual feeling of the maternal kind towards these little suckers! So, I refilled water bottles (for the kids who had remembered to bring one) from the water cooler in our staffroom and turned the air con on during lunchtime, so by the time we came into our room it was nice and cool and then organised a dvd for them to watch – Ice Age 4 – trying to keep them cool…of course it suited me rather well too!

Sometimes school life just needs to be as easy as that, especially on days like today…for both the kidlets and me!

Life should be easy on a hot night like tonight too and there’s nothing like a BBQ to make life easy, relaxed and very fine indeed! It helps that my obsession with food means that most of my meat is marinated before it goes into the freezer (I have posted about this before) which makes everything not just easy but incredibly succulent and tasty!

Tomatoes are the best things ever!

I had marinated chicken tenderloins and lamb chops in the freezer so I pulled them out last night and they had defrosted nicely and were waiting patiently in the fridge for me to get home and  place them on the BBQ for dinner. They were very well behaved pieces of meat! All I had to do was make a salad…easy peasy folks!

I had used the same marinade for both meats and it was awesomely spicy and tangy 🙂 I cannot remember quantities as I did this before I froze the meat a couple of weeks ago. This marinade goes beautifully with seafood too!

Marinade

lemon grass

garlic

ginger

chilli paste

shaoxing wine

lime juice

fish sauce

sesame oil

galangal

Awesome flavours!!!  Awesome taste!!! Succulent and perfect on a balmy night 🙂

Went down a treat with my Pomegranate Vodka!

This is what life is all about

4 thoughts on “Damn…It’s hot!!!

    • I set aside a day for this every 4 – 6 weeks (depending on how long it takes for the meat to run down) – no other plans whatsoever – meat shopping, preparing spice blends and marinades, bagging, labelling and organising the freezer – my family find it a little scary and make plans to be out of the house on that day 🙂 and I certainly wouldn’t want the rest of my life to be that organised 🙂

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

