Salmon without Calamari…

Salmon with Bok Choy and Mushrooms

When I make Salmon, I also have to make Calamari rings for my daughter because she hates Salmon. Well, actually I think I did too when I was her age so hopefully she will grow out of it and come to love Salmon as much as I do…which is lots!!!

As she is off hiking (hahaha! refer to my last post to understand why this is funny!) I jumped at the opportunity at making one of my favourite meals. Salmon with bok choy and mushrooms with a shaoxing wine, sesame oil and oyster sauce dressing…so awesome!

Of course it’s a Nigella Lawson recipe but I add the Shaoxing Wine and leave out the Soy.

This is calming food for me…mellow and restorative and after being called an ‘effn bitch’ today at work by a rather  disturbed 15 year old boy I don’t even know, calm was something I was in desperate need of…my mantra “must not punch the children” was working overtime…

Anyway he was suspended from school and I had Salmon for dinner…don’t really know who was the biggest winner here – he gets a couple of days off school after all…

Ingredients

2 salmon fillets…the best you can get

1 clove chopped garlic

peanut oil

whatever mushrooms you like (shiitake mushrooms go well with this but I couldn’t find any today)

bunch of bok choy…chopped and stems separated from leaves

3 – 4 tbsps shaoxing wine

3 tbsps oyster sauce

little splash of sesame oil

pepper

Method

Cook the salmon fillets — preferably in a good nonstick pan or on a grill plate — over medium-high heat until just cooked through, and remove them to warmed plates.

In a heavy-based pan, fry the garlic in the oil. Add the sliced mushrooms together with the bok choy stalks, stirring everything together for a few minutes. Cover the pan and cook for about 5 minutes, then remove the lid and add the roughly chopped bok choy leaves, oyster sauce, shaoxing wine and sesame oil. Let cook for another 2 to 3 minutes until the leaves have wilted.

Pile the mushrooms and greens on the plates with the salmon, add pepper to taste, and enjoy…truly love this!

Effn wonderful…

 

 

5 thoughts on “Salmon without Calamari…

    • I’m with you on the camping – I guess I’m laughing because it’s her and not me! Yes, bok choy can get a little soppy, particularly the leaves so I pop them right at the end so they just wilt and use more of the stems…the flavour combo is pretty good though. Something crunchy like sugar snaps could be a good green substitute 🙂

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

