Slow Is Sometimes Better

Slow Cooked Beef Spare Ribs

Today I received my first blogging award. It was a “One Lovely Blog” Award. I had just woken up and hadn’t even left my bed yet when I reached over to log on to all my social networks etc. It was still a little dark and of course I hadn’t put on my reading glasses so I spent half the day thinking I had received a “One Lovely Lady” award!

Ummm…odd I thought for a food blog…but nice!

Later in the day at work, I thought I had better take a closer look to see what I had to do in honour of receiving such an award. With a much clearer head and not as slow (and wearing my glasses) I read that it was a lovely blog award!!!

I’m a Gemini and am used to being quite quick in the mind department and the only thing I do slowly is…well…very little actually!

That’s not to say that I don’t like my food to sometimes take its time and cook slowly and gently. I’m quite happy to wait for Beef Spare Ribs to take all day if they so please before they fall apart and melt in my mouth.

I served this dish with steamed jasmine rice and as I had baked beetroot the day before, I turned it into a dip with yoghurt and garlic and served that with the whole thing too. It was really delicious. Enjoy!

Ingredients

6 large whole asado beef spare ribs

2 large onions, chopped

4 cloves garlic (unpeeled)

1 – 2 tblspns flour

I cup wine (red or white…I used sweet red sparkling)

2 cups water or beef stock

sprigs of thyme

bay leaf

Marinade

1/2 cup maple syrup

1/2 cup bbq sauce

1/4 cup dark soy sauce (use sweet soy if you like)

Method

Cut each long beef rib between the bones, so each rib is cut into three smaller pieces. Coat the ribs in the marinade. Marinate for at least an hour or overnight if you can. The longer they marinate, the better.

Brown the ribs on the stove in a little oil in a baking tray or casserole dish. Remove ribs and set aside.

Saute onions until soft and add flour. Mix well. Add the wine and deglaze pan, making sure nothing is sticking to the bottom. Return ribs to the pan and add water or stock and whole unpeeled garlic cloves. Season with salt and pepper and add the thyme and bay leaf.

Place lid on casserole dish or cover baking tray with foil. Place in oven and cook on a low temp, around 150. The longer these cook the better they taste. This could take 2 hours…I left mine in all afternoon…around 4 hours. They are cooked when the meat is falling off the bone and are very tender.

They seem to take a long time to cook but you don’t have to do anything..put them in the oven and forget about them for a few hours…They are delicious and the gravy is to die for. The flour that was added at the beginning will thicken the gravy.

Serve with garlic mashed potatoes, steamed rice or spiral pasta. I love rice with this dish 🙂

 

Beetroot Dip

Ingredients

  • 1 beetroot
  • 250g (1 cup) Greek-style yoghurt
  • 2 tbs white vinegar
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 tbs good olive oil
  • Salt & freshly ground black pepper

Method

Wrap beetroot in foil and bake in oven for about an hour or until the beetroot is soft. Test with a skewer.

Peel beetroot and grate corsely with  a grater.

Grate garlic and mix with grated beetroot. Add to yoghurt and combine gently. Add salt, vinegar and a little of the oil and fold mixture together gently with a spoon. Add a little more olive oil and mix again.

Pour the dip into a serving bowl and top with some ground pepper and drizzle with the rest of the olive oil.

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

