I Love Where I Live!

Pumpkin Bread with Avocado and Tomato

I live in an area that is awesome when it comes to buying food. This is pretty much due to the fact that more than a couple of thousand Lebanese people moved here many years ago. They opened up International Grocery Stores and excellent Lebanese Pizza places around the corner from my house. I can buy anything and everything that is wonderful there – spices, herbs and fresh locally grown fruit and veg. I count myself so very lucky. On top of that, the surrounding suburbs are a magical mix of people from South East Asia & the Subcontinent so Vietnamese, Cambodian, Thai, Malaysian, Indonesian, Indian, Sri Lankin, Bangladeshi, Pakistani and Nepalese restaurants, supermarkets and delis are everywhere. I can buy the most obscure Vietnamese or Thai ingredients to produce truly authentic food. If I want an Indian curry – no problem – I just head down to the next suburb and shop for whatever I want in the Indian grocery store. I don’t think I’ll be holidaying in Afghanistan any time soon but I can sure as hell eat their awesome food in one of the most wonderful little restaurants tucked away in a small neighbouring suburb, and all of this no more than a 10 minute drive from my house. I effn love where I live!

Buy real food people!

Buy real food people!

This has also meant that many ‘foodies’ have moved into the area and have opened up cafes and bakeries. Not all of them are great, not many of them last and some of these ‘foodies’ are just wankers, but those that are great become firm favourites with the locals. ‘Sourdough Kitchen’ is one of these places. This place is small but bakes and houses the most delicious bread I have ever had and the surrounding ‘good’ cafes use their bread to serve up to their customers. It was at one of these cafes where I fell in love with their pumpkin bread. I am more than happy to drive there and pay $6.50 for a very small loaf – it really is that good!

Such a great place!

Such a great place!

So, today I woke up normal work time early instead of having my usual holiday sleep in and made myself an espresso (only espresso will do in the morning and don’t get me started on buying instant coffee – that shit should be illegal) and found myself ready for the day. Yes, I headed out to ‘Sourdough Kitchen’ to buy bread. I love eating this bread thickly sliced, toasted and topped with avocado and tomato with lots of salt and black pepper and this is exactly what I had for lunch today. My daughter, who hates avocado, ate hers with tomato and the tzatziki I  had made yesterday. Great friggin’ lunch, the sun was bloody shining, I was on effn holidays – my life can be so wonderful sometimes I think I should celebrate it with a Vodka and Cranberry – it’s 2pm and a lovely afternoon drink is definitely in order…Cheers and bottoms up!

It was still warm when I bought it!

It was still warm when I bought it!

Alex's yummy lunch!

Alex’s yummy lunch!

My lunch - so friggin' delish!

My lunch – so friggin’ delish!

6 thoughts on “I Love Where I Live!

  1. Hah! Love that you think instant coffee should be illegal! Although, my mocha pot no longer has its rubber ring in tact so I can’t make espresso. Ouch. Anyway, you’re so lucky to have so many differing types of deli’s so close.

    • Instant coffee actually makes me sick and you need to get onto that rubber ring fast so you can once again enjoy good coffee! I do feel extremely lucky to be able to shop for whatever I like here and it does mean that sometimes I can come across as a food/ingredient nazi – I’m not, I’m just spoilt for choice.

  2. Thanks for the advice, I’ll have to check out The Sourdough Kitchen. I live in the West of Melbourne, and your right about all the multiculturalism going on, and I love it too. One you left off, and only because it is just about to open, is a new Egyptian cafe in Sanctuary Lakes Shopping Centre called Nefertiti’s. It is very small and will probably be more for take away, but I can’t wait until it opens so I can try their food. Cheers!

    • Hey Lance, The Sourdough Kitchen is on Victoria St. in Seddon in amongst all the cafes and a few doors down from Bongiovanni’s (expensive but some great stuff in there)…Let me know what the Egyptian Cafe is like – I love having all these wonderful places to eat and awesome ingredients to buy 🙂

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

