Truffle! Truffle! Truffle!

Truffle Oil Linguine

My day trip to the wineries not only saw me come home with some great wine, it also provided me with the opportunity to indulge myself in some other amazing food stuff…the nicest goats cheese I’ve ever tasted as well as a jar of chiili for cheese thingy and some very expensive but amazing truffle oil.

I was in food heaven on Wednesday but came crashing back down to hellish Earth bound reality today when I saw my bank balance! OMG! I’m now broke (thank you truffle oil!) and have to wait another week and a half til pay day…oh well at least there’s lots of goodness and love in my pantry!

My handsome man says I have ‘issues’ when it comes to the rapture I feel for food and great produce…seriously if he lived on his own he would probably buy plain label everything from the stupidmarket  because “It’s all the same isn’t it?”

Well, it isn’t all the same at all actually! As he has slowly but surely learned as I do not hear him complain when I serve up food he has sworn he would never eat because “Ive had that before and it was awful!”…Well, he hasn’t had it the way I make it – the Helen way! It’s been a great experience for me to know that I have opened up his world when it comes to food…and while we are on the subject of having ‘issues,’ this is a man who has converted our 3rd bedroom into a dvd store. He owns more than 12,000 dvd’s and a few hundred blu rays (yes, you read that right) and buys collectable figurines, mainly of the horror genre…talk about issues.

It would not be an unusual thing for us to sit on the couch, each on our own laptops for hours, not saying a word, him looking up movies to add to this months order and me looking up food things I can buy on line, or recipes, or my other love…shoes! A match made in addiction heaven!

Well, this post was supposed to be about the truffle oil linguine I made for dinner tonight. It doesn’t look like much but it tasted incredible and really, there are no words, just Homer Simpson like drool… 🙂

Ingredients

  • linguine
  • Salt
  • 1 egg
  • 3 – 4 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 3 tablespoons grated Parmesan
  • Few drops white truffle oil, or to taste
  • Freshly ground white pepper
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • reserve some of the pasta water (about 1/4 cup)

Method

Make your linguine ( I don’t think I need to give you instructions for this).

In a bowl whisk the egg, cream, Parmesan, a few drops of truffle oil and white pepper.

Put the drained pasta back into the pan you cooked it in, then add the butter and about 1 tablespoonful of the cooking water. Stir to mix.

Stir in the egg mixture and keep mixing so that the pasta becomes smooth, soft and lightly coated. Taste to see if it needs any salt or any more truffle oil and add accordingly.

4 thoughts on “Truffle! Truffle! Truffle!

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

