Easter – A Let Down!

We usually have the traditional Greek lamb on the spit at Easter but my dad is getting too old and tired to do it so we had roast lamb and roast chicken instead – in the oven with veg – just not the same – nice, but not thrilling!

Dad and I were not the cooks this year and it just didn’t feel like Easter.

I did do the baking of Greek Easter biscuits, breads and shortbreads though so I will post these photos. Mum and I always do a cracker job with the sweets…modest…I know…

The recipes for these are already up on previous Easter posts so I won’t bore you with them again.

Didn’t even have a glass of frikin wine – such a let down this year – Oh woe is me!

On the plus side, we had a cranking’ dinner tonight. Rain and thunder all day – it was the absolute best!

Comfort food in the way of gnocchi with béchamel, kale and parsley – too bloody good people!

Make gnocchi as normal – sauté kale and parsley – make béchamel sauce – add cheese – drain gnocchi – mix everything together in a baking dish – top with cheese and brown in the oven – almost passed out on the couch after this – so comforting, sitting here in my polka dot onesie with a glass of vino -too much information? Bad bloody luck! Ready to take on the fucking world…!

Feeling full and feisty…

Lots of orange zest added this year - nice flavor!

Lots of orange zest added this year – nice flavor!

I like them thin and crunchy not thick and cakey...

I like them thin and crunchy not thick and cakey…

Finished product - koulourakia!

Finished product – koulourakia!

My favourites - crushed walnut shortbreads with a hint of ouzo - ok - more than a hint :)

My favourites – crushed walnut shortbreads with a hint of ouzo – ok – more than a hint 🙂

Dust those suckers with heaps of icing sugar - frickin' awesome...

Dust those suckers with heaps of icing sugar – frickin’ awesome…

Tonights' dinner in the baking dish - just out of the oven...

Tonights’ dinner in the baking dish – just out of the oven…

A close up...

A close up…

An even better close up!

An even better close up!

7 thoughts on “Easter – A Let Down!

  1. All looks and sounds great. I know what you mean, Easter = Lamb, but here in the UK that generally means in the oven at this time/season of the year. But no booze to go with it? You gotta watch that, girl. The whole onesie scenario we’ll dispense with for now. Happy Easter.

    • Don’t worry mate, I made up for the lack of booze when I got home – I plead temporary insanity on the onesie thing – just being a mum forced into wearing something I would not normally wear – damn child – even at almost 20yrs of age she can make me do the most stupid things 🙂
      Hope you had a great Easter 🙂

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

