Easy but not necessarily cheap!

I managed to get away from home last week. My bestie and I headed down the coast for a few days of eating, drinking and general slothliness. The weather has been totally schizo here in Melbourne – worse than usual!

So we left on a really warm but wildly windy morning, enjoyed a very warm and calm evening and woke to a freezing cold, miserable rainy with hail day the next day – schizo, yes, but perfect for lounging.

We had brought so much food with us – we did not need to leave the house for anything! Good  thing considering the weather.

Of course time away for me means plenty of cheese, avocado, bread and wine – so I bought lots!

I bought my favorites: Roquefort, D’affinois and Jarlsberg! The bread was still warm when we bought it and I chargrilled some zucchini and capsicum…so good!

Nigella Lawson made this wonderful ‘dip’ in an old episode and I have been making it ever since.

Roquamole – easy to make, not cheap but definitely worth it!

Ingredients
1 cup crumbled Roquefort
1/4 cup sour cream
2 ripe avocados
2 tablespoons finely sliced spring onions
1/4 cup jarred sliced pickled green jalapeños (I also added red chillies)
1/4 teaspoon paprika

Directions
Crumble or mash the blue cheese with the sour cream in a bowl. Mash in the avocados. If they are ripe, a fork should be all you need. Roughly chop the sliced jalapenos and stir them into the mixture along with the finely sliced spring onions.  Add red chiilies if you like – I like!!!!!

Toast some Turkish bread rolls and spoon this on top – or on crackers or even just by the spoonful.

IMG_1557IMG_1559

2 thoughts on “Easy but not necessarily cheap!

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

