Hold The Oil…

So, when I set out to make this wonderful dinner for myself on Friday night, I had a sneaky suspicion that not all would go to plan. I thought the chicken might not be crispy or that the flavours wouldn’t be quite right or that I would forget to add something.

I planned and orgnised everything well in advance – you need to do this when deep frying in a very, very hot wok or indeed stir frying anything. Get everything ready – it’s hot, quick and you most certainly do not want limp stir fried veggies – actually limp is not good in a lot of situations! (and not just in the kitchen!)

There does come a point however, when you do need to slow down. And that, dear readers, is when you are pouring out the hot oil from the wok into a bowl in order to begin stage two of you cooking. The Vietnamese crispy chicken tasted awesome and was sitting on the platter waiting for the simple veggies to be stir fried.

Sounds simple enough…Right?

I was in fast mode and not a drop of alcohol had been consumed. As I poured the hot oil into the bowl I totally missed and you guessed it – poured that oil right over Mr. Thumbkin and Mr. Pointer (why are they male?)

Yep, that’s right folks, not only were the stir fried veggies off the menu for the evening but I was bringing along some stir fried digits just for the hell of it – and my chicken went cold!

Yes, I did the cold water thing for 20 mins but my fingers were still boiling hot so an hour later I was finally able to take my hands out of the bowl of water that needed to be changed every 10 mins because it was heating up – such was the level of heat coming out of my skin. A visit to the chemist where they applied gel and a bandage and off I went home and begrudgingly ate my cold chicken, called my best friend who came over with some wine (bless her cotton socks!), drank way too much wine, baked yo yo biscuits, sent some drunken texts, sang really loud to some bad 70s songs and passed out at some point.

I haven’t had a Friday night like that in a while!

Tonight, I thought it best to get right back on the wok that burnt me and made my stir fried veggies for dinner. I will post both photos together like I ate them together like I was supposed to. Yes, I did manage to take photos of the chicken before I deep fried myself!

Just wasn’t the same but the veggies were a nice healthy dinner tonight.

Marinating the chicken.

Marinating the chicken.

Frying that chicken - 5 mins away from contact!!!

Frying that chicken – 5 mins away from contact!!!

Waiting for the veggies - they never turned up - My chicken had been stood up...

Waiting for the veggies – they never turned up – My chicken had been stood up…

Simple and delicious!...

Simple and delicious!…

I may dress in the typical Melbourne black but I like to eat in colour!

I may dress in the typical Melbourne black but I like to eat in colour!

Ingredients:

  • chicken thigh fillets, cut into pieces & marinated in the following.
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon five spice powder
  • 1 tablespoon cornflour
  • 1 tablespoon light soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon Chinese wine or shao hsing wine
  • 6 tablespoons water

Sweet potato flour for coating before frying.  You can  use cornflour but sweet potato flour gives a more crispy texture. Sometimes I use coconut flour.

Method

  • Toss the chicken in sweet potato flour.
  • Heat a deep frying pan, add enough oil to deep fry the chicken.
  • When the oil is smoking hot, turn off the stove, and add the chicken.  Immediately turn the stove on again to a high heat, stir the chicken to prevent them from sticking.
  • Fry chicken until it is golden brown.
  • Don’t fry your fingers!

Dunk chicken in awesome Vietnamese dipping sauce and eat with stir fried veggies – or in my case – Not!

…and drunken yo yo biscuits!

hmmm...not quite sure I remember making these!

hmmm…not quite sure I remember making these!

Freeform and rustic - wondered where they came from when I woke up this morning!

Freeform and rustic – wondered where they came from when I woke up this morning!

5 thoughts on “Hold The Oil…

  1. Oh no! You poor thing. I’ve had many a kitchen accident in my time but they mostly seem to be scorches from the oven or knife slashes. Your poor fingers. I can definitely understand why you took consolation in your wine! 😦 On the other hand, the chicken looks so delicious. I am glad that you managed to eat it in spite of it being cold. Ah, fingers crossed that your fingers will heal quickly so that you’ll be back to normal in no time xx

  2. Definitely ouch! It’s healing well but still bandaged!
    Sweet Potato flour is a gluten free flour that is made from white sweet potatoes. High in fiber, has more carbohydrates but less protein than white flour. It can be used for baked goods, such as breads, cookies, muffins, pancakes, doughnuts, sauces, and gravies, or as a thickener. I found it by accident in an international supply supermarket and bought it out of curiosity – then looked up how to use it. Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

