What Have You Been Up To…?

Uh Oh! I went AWOL again!

To say that this year has been a big one for me would be an understatement. But life is what life is – and that is – it’s just life!

So, what have you been up to?

Here’s a brief overview of what’s been going on my end of town…

1. New position at work = work overload = too tired to do anything but sleep.

2. My daughter left for Europe six weeks ago and won’t be back for another six weeks = miss her but getting loads of presents…my favourite being the chef’s hat she bought me from Paris!

3. I ate quinoa – finally – made my own quinoa tabbouleh = hooked on the stuff.

4. I am now a single woman (after 5 years! Damn!) = I wonder if it was the quinoa?

5. Went to the wineries with the girls = shit load of wine just chillin’ out waiting for me to say ‘come to mumma baby.’

6. 2 weeks school holidays now over but I have another 2 weeks off on paid leave = Yay! Time to drink that wine!

7. Did a huge meat shopping trip = freezer is full so don’t have to get out of my pyjamas for the next 2 weeks!

8. Made my own parmesan/herb focaccia today = too lazy to get dressed and go to the shops to buy bread.

9. Took the dog for a walk/run/walk/run this afternoon…this of course is an out right lie…I had a snooze!

10. Woke up from snooze and wrote this…

…and…yes folks, all in that order!

Here are some pics of what I’ve been cooking and remembered to photograph!

Saying farewell to my daughter for 3 months!

Saying farewell to my daughter for 3 months!

Super huge meatballs! If they're not super huge, they just aint meatballs!

Super huge meatballs! If they’re not super huge, they just aint meatballs!

Ricotta pancakes with my home made salted caramel and sliced bananas - this was dinner for me one night!

Ricotta pancakes with my home made salted caramel and sliced bananas – this was dinner for me one night!

This was another gourmet dinner for me - blackberry, banana, honey, almond milk (how do you milk almonds?) and chia seeds - super shake!

This was another gourmet dinner for me – blackberry, banana, honey, almond milk (how do you milk almonds?) and chia seeds – super shake!

Thought I should eat something substantial so I made this kick ass saffron and porcini mushroom risotto!

Thought I should eat something substantial so I made this kick ass saffron and porcini mushroom risotto!

Mum gave me a whole squid to clean and cook - bless her! So, another risotto it was - but I like this one more on the soupy side - just like my mum used to make it for me when I was a kid! My favourite food of all time!

Mum gave me a whole squid to clean and cook – bless her! So, another risotto it was – but I like this one more on the soupy side – just like my mum used to make it for me when I was a kid! My favourite food of all time!

Getting things ready for that quinoa tabbouli :)

Getting things ready for that quinoa tabbouli 🙂

Ta Daaaaa!!! I lived on this for the next couple of days!

Ta Daaaaa!!! I lived on this for the next couple of days!

oops...forgot about the lack of red meat in my diet - succulent spicy beef.

oops…forgot about the lack of red meat in my diet – succulent spicy beef.

Put it all together - toasted afghan bread topped with that awesome tabbouli, beef and lemon and dill spicy assed mustard.

Put it all together – toasted afghan bread topped with that awesome tabbouli, beef and lemon and dill spicy assed mustard.

Had an urge to make my grandma's fried flat breads - plain and simple. I used to eat these with crumbled feta cheese on top and rolled up - food from the heart!

Had an urge to make my grandma’s fried flat breads – plain and simple. I used to eat these with crumbled feta cheese on top and rolled up – food from the heart!

I love how yeast is so...yeasty!

I love how yeast is so…yeasty!

I know there's the pleasure of kneading dough by hand but I figure that's what dough hooks are for!

I know there’s the pleasure of kneading dough by hand but I figure that’s what dough hooks are for!

Gettin' that parmesan and herb focaccia ready for the oven!

Gettin’ that parmesan and herb focaccia ready for the oven!

Straight out of the oven...

Straight out of the oven…

...and...topped with avocado, tomato, cheese, mustard and all sorts of yummies - went down a treat with a glass of chilled Pinot Gris!!!

…and…topped with avocado, tomato, cheese, mustard and all sorts of yummies – went down a treat with a glass of chilled Pinot Gris!!!

So, there you have it – the last 3 – 4 months on one page! A bit sad isn’t it? Maybe not!

Not sure when I will be back writing on a more regular basis but rest assured that I do visit your blogs and enjoy reading and thinking about your food!!

Cheers people 🙂

4 thoughts on “What Have You Been Up To…?

  1. Yum, what awesome food! Sounds like a delicious few months… love the look of those pancakes with the bananas. I adore breakfast for dinner 🙂 Re your daughter… damn woman, you both look the same age! I think I need some anti-ageing advice from you, quick smart. Thanks for sharing your foodie adventures with us. Great to have you back with us! xx

    • I’ll take the compliment for sure – thanks 🙂 My ego needs a bit of a boost at the moment! Thank goodness for great food and great bloggers like you! I have a few blog posts to catch up on and with another 2 weeks off work, I’ve certainly got time on my hands! Always a pleasure hearing from you xx

  2. Some of the nicest wine has gone down quite nicely lately – not to mention the bottle of Grey Goose (who woulda thunk the French made such fine Vodka!) – no drama with smelly pyjamas (I own about 20,000 pairs of pj bottoms!) – and yes, quinoa is pretty good stuff 🙂

  3. Damn homie, sounds like a fun few months… well, at least the bit about the wineries anyway. Glad you finally tried quinoa though. I frickin love that stuff, especially in tabouleh. Hope your pyjamas don’t start to smell too much 🙂

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

