Soup Season

Chicken. Chorizo and Rice Soup.

I came home from work one night last week and hadn’t even thought about dinner. My mind was too fixated on the fact that I had three days until term break.

Accidents happen. Most of the time accidents are an unwelcome part of our lives; making a bad day worse or a great day unbearable. Accidents in the kitchen could mean smashing a glass lasagne tray brimming with creamy, cheesy lasagne, against the kitchen bench as you are about the serve your dinner guests and then having to get take away or it could mean almost losing your fingers while trying to chop onions like Jamie Oliver when clearly you are not Jamie Oliver but just a plain ol girl who has almost lost her fingers!

I don’t like these type of accidents!

The kind of accidents in the kitchen I like best are when I set out to make something and accidentally add the wrong ingredient and it turns out so good that I have to write it down lest I forget what I did.

Such was the case when I made this soup. Chicken noodle soup was what I set out to make but accidentally added rice instead of noodles (an easy mistake I’m sure you’d agree as they look sooooo similar!). Of course this changed the whole game plan so chorizo and carrot were added to compliment the rest of the ingredients – and it worked – and it was so good I’m making it again next week.

Ingredients

2 – 3 smallish chicken fillets, left whole

1 1/2 cups rice

Chorizo, cut on the diagonal

1 onion, sliced

1 leek, sliced into strips

2 carrots, cut on the diagonal

1 spring onion for garnish

parsley, chopped for garnish (or coriander)

Stock Ingredients

1 litre chicken stock

1 cup white wine

1/4 cup shaoxing wine

1 tblspn soy sauce

splash of fish sauce

splash of sesame oil

Method

Combine all stock ingredients and bring to the boil. Reduce heat to low and add whole chicken fillets. Simmer gently for 20 – 30 mins. Remove chicken fillets and keep warm.

Increase heat and bring stock to the boil again. Add rice, chorizo and vegetables. Simmer until all ingredients are cooked (10 – 15 mins).

Slice chicken so you have nice roundish discs (not strips or chunks). Place sliced chicken at the bottom of your soup bowl and splash a little more sesame oil over the chicken.

Ladle soup over the chicken and top with sliced spring onions and chopped parsley or coriander. I used parsley because I didn’t have any coriander left.

Lovely!

Lovely!

4 thoughts on “Soup Season

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

