An Ode to Game of Thrones, True Blood and Teaching!

Food I’ve cooked in my real life whilst I took a leave of absence from my virtual one.

Term 2 is a bastard!

Not like the bastard John Snow from “Game of Thrones” but like a good for nothing no redeeming features type of psychopath! A psychopath if you will – like Joffrey – that’s what Term 2 in a high school is!

We all approach the end of Term 1 with the foreboding sense of the horror to come. The light heart which Summer had given us becomes heavy with sadness and melancholy – in the words of The Starks – “Winter is Coming!”… and so was Term 2!

It bares its fangs and bites you hard. Not like Eric Northman from True Blood does to me in my dreams every night but more like Russell Edgington, ripping at your throat, draining your blood and tearing out your heart in the end, in front of a crowd!

School in full swing – assignments, Government literacy and Numeracy tests, corrections, presentations, meetings, more corrections, exams, more corrections, more meetings, report writing, proof reading and more meetings and corrections and the term is over and you are spent!

It’s safe to say I have been more than tired. Exhausted in fact. My neck and shoulders ache and my eyes hurt. But, now for 2 weeks of wonderful holidays. Sufficed it to say these next 2 weeks will be the best 2 weeks of my life!

I cooked and I forgot to photograph but sometimes I remembered, so here are the photos of what I cooked whilst I took another break from blogland!

I’m at this stage unable to post recipes, such is the level of my exhaustion, but please take a moment to view the photos and be comforted by the fact that food was where I sought solace over the last eleven weeks…and food is our saviour  if you don’t know that then “you know nothin John Snow!”

Enjoy!

chicken and leek pie

chicken and leek pie

Because you have to see what it looked like on the inside!

Because you have to see what it looked like on the inside!

French onion Soup - because my parents bought a 5 kilo bag of onions!

French onion Soup – because my parents bought a 5 kilo bag of onions!

Lasagne.

Lasagne.

I like my lasagne creamy!

I like my lasagne creamy!

Potato and Leek Soup - Winter warmer!

Potato and Leek Soup – Winter warmer!

Chicken, Chorizo and Rice Soup - just the best!

Chicken, Chorizo and Rice Soup – just the best!

Roast Potatoes, Beef with red wine and a spicy mustard - too good!

Roast Potatoes, Beef with red wine and a spicy mustard – too good!

Stir Fry Veggies - such great colours!

Stir Fry Veggies – such great colours!

Salt and Pepper Squid - tasty and tender!

Salt and Pepper Squid – tasty and tender!

Altogether - stir fry veggies, salt and pepper squid and coconut rice - my favourite!

Altogether – stir fry veggies, salt and pepper squid and coconut rice – my favourite!

2 thoughts on “An Ode to Game of Thrones, True Blood and Teaching!

  1. Thanks Adam! 🙂 I will definitely get around to posting the recipes. The rice and chorizo soup happened by accident so I had to write down what I did so as not to forget – definitely a keeper! The squid was so great and the trick is to score it and cook it very quickly so it remains tender. I’m so envious that you are able to travel short distances to get to the most amazing places. I’m so sad that I live so far away from the rest of the world and plan on coming back to Europe one day and hopefully settle in either London or Greece. Thank you for your kind words 🙂

  2. Wow, that all looks fantastic! Please, please, please post the recipes when you are sufficiently rested. I have to try the squid, having just come back from Valencia, Spain where I ate the best squid I’ve ever tasted. And it’s all such great colours too in your wonderful photos.

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

