But I told you I hated it the last time you made it!

Corned Beef with the rest.

So the title of this post is what my daughter said to me last night when I placed the platter on the table in front of her.

She was starving and the look of horror on her face turned my smile upside down!

You see I was convinced that she loved this the last time I made it and I had a picture in my my head of the two of us eating corned beef and mustard rolls for lunch the next day – apparently not!

I had made this especially for her! – ok – maybe I made it for me so I could enjoy a corned beef, mustard & horseradish roll for lunch on Monday.

She had a huge bacon sanga, HP sauce with potatoes and carrots on the side!

I didn’t just stud an onion with cloves but added whole garam masala spices to the stock which gave it the most amazing flavor as well as making our tongues slightly numb from the star anise – awesome Winter days ahead!

Ok, now I need to ask a favour. I need awesome ideas for slow cooked weekend Winter food from you out there in blogland.

Send me your ideas for good old fashioned hearty food…please….

Signing off – have taken the day off work to catch up on things I can never get done during the week – can’t wait for corned beef roll for lunch.

Ingredients

  • 1½ kg Corned beef Silverside
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 2 fresh bay leaves
  • 10 whole black peppercorns
  • garam masala – whole spices
  • little fat carrots
  • small cute potatoes (cut in half)
  • Big fat round onion studded with cloves
  • sauerkraut
  • horseradish

Method

Place corned beef and flavouring ingredients in a large saucepan. Cover with cold water.

Bring slowly to the boil. Reduce heat and simmer gently over low heat for 2 1/2 hours or until beef is tender.

Add potatoes and carrots and continue to cook for another 30 mins or so.

Remove beef from pan and carve against the grain and serve with veg, sauerkraut, mustard and horseradish – die happy!

awesome!

awesome!

my plate with white sauce

my plate with white sauce

8 thoughts on “But I told you I hated it the last time you made it!

  1. Yum yum. Never made corned beef but I do love the stuff. Will be trying your recipe, so thank you. Winter faces for me are oxtail and butter beans, beouf borgignon (help spell check) and good old sausage, mash and onion gravy. You have to go a long way to beat a great sausage.
    Good post, hon. Cheers

    • gotta love sausage, mash and onion gravy. I used to be married to an Englishman so we ate a lot of great winter comfort food – I still make Yorkshire Pudding with my roast beef – you may give up on the marriage but never give up good food 🙂 cheers 🙂

      • LOL. I had a marriage like that. I might have lost a house and a few sticks of furniture but I got to keep her chicken liver pate recipe. Who’s laughing now!?!

    • Corned Silverside is a cut of beef from the top of the back leg and can be bought in any butchers. In Australia and New Zealand we use it to make what we call ‘corned beef’ although I know exactly what you are talking about – I can still remember my dad eating corned beef. Silverside is for roasting, corned silverside is for what I made last night – does this help?

      • Yes, thank you. Those terms aren’t used over here. Although I know of silverside I didn’t realise that cut can be used (aside from making beef olives) for corned beef. Would love to try the latter!

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

