I Love Winter

Lamb Shank, Barley and Veggie Soup

June 1st marks the beginning of Winter.

I love Winter in Melbourne. It gets cold! Of course by cold I don’t mean it snows – don’t be crazy! I mean there is a chill in the air and some brilliant sunshine during the day. It gets dark early and it’s just nice to snuggle down with flanny jammies and a glass of red wine or a really rich dark hot chocolate.

I love Winter food. Slow cooking is my favourite and I miss it during the Summer months.

Last week we had a cold day and it rained. The best thing about this was that it was a Sunday so there was time to slow cook lamb shanks and make a hearty soup with barley and vegetables. It was a perfect pj day and I snoozed on the couch while the shanks slowly did their sexy thing.

There’s not much more to say – wonderful – I get really sad for people who have never eaten this.

I love my food :)

I love my food πŸ™‚

Ingredients

  • 2 tbs olive oil
  • 6 trimmed lamb shanks
  • 2 large chopped onions
  • 6 cloves garlic – whole and leave skins on
  • 2 diced carrots
  • Marsala
  • 2 litres beef stock
  • 1 litre water
  • 3/4 cup pearl barley
  • 2 tbs chopped parsley
  • 1 tsp finely chopped fresh rosemary

Method

Heat 2 tbs olive oil in a large saucepan and brown 6 trimmed lamb shanks. Remove and set aside. Add 2 large chopped onions, 6 whole garlic cloves (skin on), 2 diced carrots and cook for 5 minutes or until lightly browned.

Return the shanks to the pan and add Marsala, 2 litres beef stock, 1 litre water, 3/4 cup pearl barley and 2 tbs chopped fresh rosemary. Bring to the boil then reduce the heat to low and simmer, covered, for 2 hours.

Remove the shanks and cool slightly. Take the meat off the bone and flake into pieces. Β Squeeze the garlic out of their skins and mash and mix with the meat. Return the meat to the soup and add an extra 1 tsp finely chopped fresh rosemary as well as chopped parsley. Season to taste and serve with warm crusty bread with butter – and drink some red wine – that’s what heaven means to me!

10 thoughts on “I Love Winter

  1. You’re so right. Love those slow cooked and as you know we get a lot of winter here in the UK to do them. However we are getting a little bit of Inter-winter (whilst waiting for Winter to start again) such that we get, so this will have to wait a while before I cook it again. Something to look forward to. Nice post!

    • As it doesn’t snow or get to sub zero temperatures here, I never complain about Winter – I just enjoy the warmth created from slow cooked food – thank you for always having something nice to say about my posts πŸ™‚

  2. So glad to see I’m not the only one making lamb soup. Well, in my case I didn’t use shanks. Neck of lamb which is a new cut for me to cook with. Turned out really well! And I’m not overly keen on lamb. Enjoy your winter πŸ™‚

    • I’m also not overly keen on lamb but love shanks and the neck. I love the combination of the lamb and the barley and the Marsala gives it a much more mellow flavour than using red wine. I’m mostly using Marsala now instead of red wine in my cooking and it’s so much nicer!
      I plan on enjoying every day of Winter cooking and I have changed my diet drastically so some new food adventures for me πŸ™‚

    • It really was yum and I as it freezes so well I made lots and have plenty in the freezer for a mid week meal. Marsala is so much more mellow than red wine in cooking and I just love using it πŸ™‚

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

