When my little chickens sleep over!

Lemon Pepper Chicken Strips

I think I’m a good auntie but I don’t have my niece and nephew stay over very often. So, after promising them a sleep over about a year ago, they finally came over tonight. They only live 5 mins away and we do see each other regularly but they were so excited to sleep over tonight and to be honest, so were we!.

I have another nephew and he will be 21yrs old in July but I thought it would be fun to invite him over too. Here’s the message I sent to my almost 21yr old nephew…“Hi honey, Luke and Mia are coming for a sleep over on Friday night. Do you want to come too? We can make fairy floss!”

Yes, that’s right, I attempted to entice my ‘almost a man’ nephew to come over on a Friday night with fairy floss – and guess what? – It worked! Although he did mis-read my text and thought I was making ‘fairy bread’ – don’t know if that’s any less strange but hey, we made fairy bread too. My nephew is no lonely loser with nothing to do on a Friday night (that would be me!). He has lots of mates and goes out regularly. It is purely because I’m the coolest most awesome auntie who cooks great food for him and he loves to shit stir me. Last time he came over I made him a tub of vanilla ice cream but told him I wanted my tupperware back, so he wrapped up the empty tub and gave it to me for Christmas – smart arse runs in my family!

These chicken strips don’t look like much but taste great. Placed in wraps with a mustard mayo and salad, they are crunchy on the outside and the chicken is nice and tangy and juicy on the inside.

Ingredients

  • 4 chicken breasts fillets, trimmed and coated in olive oil, lemon juice and garlic
  • 1/3 cup plain flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups fresh wholemeal breadcrumbs
  • 1 lemon, rind finely grated
  • 1/2 cup flat-leaf parsley leaves, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup sage leaves, finely chopped
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • extra-light olive oil, for frying

Method

Preheat oven to 130°C. Place chicken between 2 sheets plastic wrap. Pound with a meat mallet or rolling pin until 4mm thick. Coat chicken in marinade.

Combine flour and salt and pepper on a large plate. Lightly whisk eggs in a shallow dish. Combine breadcrumbs, lemon rind, parsley and sage in a separate shallow dish.

Lightly coat chicken in seasoned flour, shaking off excess. Dip in egg then coat in breadcrumb mixture, pressing crumbs on with fingertips to secure.

Place 1 tablespoon butter in a large frying pan. Pour oil into pan until 1cm deep. Heat over medium-high heat until hot. Cook schnitzels, in batches, for 2 to 3 minutes each side or until golden. Drain on paper towel. Place on a baking tray in oven to keep warm while cooking remaining schnitzels.

Once you are ready to eat cut them into strips and place in warm wraps. Top with salad and a mustard mayonnaise  then roll up and enjoy!…hehehe…I served up chicken to my chickens!

crunchy chicken strips

crunchy chicken strips

A night of great fun was had – blue fairy floss – fairy bread – followed by all my 4 chickens (my daughter included) and us watching “Wreck it Ralf” on the huge 3D screen we have in the lounge, all nicely tucked up on the recliners…they are awesome children and it’s true what they say…nieces and nephews get their awesomness from their auntie…

Best Christmas present ever!

Best Christmas present ever!

The men ate all the fairy bread - I love men who love fairy bread!

The men ate all the fairy bread – I love men who love fairy bread!

4 thoughts on “When my little chickens sleep over!

  1. Cheers! They were good and the kids just devoured them. We had such a fun night and continued with the ‘special sleep over’ food this morning with Nigella Lawson’s Doghnut French Toast, freshly squeezed orange juice and sourdough toast with vegemite. It’s only 9am and I’m pooped! 🙂

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

