Easter #1

Salted Caramel Easter Egg Slice

Thought I’d better get out of my lazy bender and post something. I’ve had writers block plus some really less than average cooking of late – nothing worth posting. Up until a week ago it was still too hot to even think about cooking or sitting still long enough to think of anything to say on this site. I just haven’t been able to get into the cooking/photographing/writing spirit this year. Energy levels and motivation have been at an all time low but am finally feeling a little more like my usual smart arse self. So hopefully that means some better food and more posts…maybe…

Easter has come and gone for most people but I have another Easter coming up in May, such is the joy of having a Greek background.

There will be some serious baking happening then and I will even take a day off work to keep up my Easter baking tradition with mum. Any excuse for a day off work…I will even become religious…

My partner’s family are Italian so there was a Sunday feast at their place. Some wonderful food and excellent desserts and the best red wine I’ve had for a long time. I contributed a couple of desserts. Dessert #1 was my Chocolate and Ricotta Cake which I have posted on here before, so I’m not posting it again…not even going to post a link to it – go find it if ya wanna! Dessert #2 was an icky sticky wonderfully sickening salted caramel chocolate easter egg slice – my brain almost melted from the sweetness but it was magnifico!

Here’s the recipe:

  • 375g dark chocolate
  • 125g caramel chocolate
  • 100g mini marshmallows
  • 100g shortbread biscuits (or your favourite plain biscuit)
  • 1 cup dried cranberries
  • 200g caramel filled Easter eggs
  • a pinch of salt

1. Line a square 19 x 19 cm / 7.6 x 7.6 inch baking tin with baking paper and unwrap the easter eggs so you are ready to go. Place the two types of chocolate in a large bowl and melt the chocolate over a double boiler or in a microwave. I always use the microwave for this as I generally fuck up the double boiler thingy.

2. Stir in the mini marshmallows, slightly crushed shortbread biscuits and dried cranberries. Ensure everything is evenly mixed and then place in the prepared tin pushing out to the edges.

3. While the chocolate remains melted, add the Easter eggs. Cut some in half to show the caramel. Sprinkle with a little salt over the top evenly and allow to set. Cut into sixteen generous sized squares.

Image

2 thoughts on “Easter #1

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

