Freedom, Fun and Formals

Chicken Marsala…My Way!

So, my daughter has finally finished school. All exams done! That’s 13 years of schooling done and dusted…unbelievable!

She’s done a lot of sleeping this week and I haven’t seen her much. Tonight she set off to her school formal…all dressed up in a 1950’s halter neck style red dress, complete with tulle underskirt and 2 hours at the hairdressers.

It’s no wonder I haven’t had time to post anything. Lots of running around to the dress maker, shopping for shoes and accessories, dropping and picking up stuff before and after work…I’m pooped to say the least. We also haven’t eaten a proper meal or anything worth posting for over a week.

This also happens to be the busiest time at work…end of year exams, marking, planning for next year, orientation programs and report writing. I’ve taken so many head ache tablets over the last 2 weeks that I’m starting to rattle!

So, after dropping my all glammed up daughter at her friend’s place so they can take photos and wait for their maxi taxi to take them to The Grand Ballroom at The Hilton, I came home and thought about dinner. I had a dream the other night about Chicken Marsala! Why? I have no idea! I haven’t eaten this since the early ’90’s and since I was feeling a little nostalgic (with my daughter having grown up and finished school and all that), Chicken Marsala was what we had for dinner…my version of it anyway.

Here’s the photo people…it tasted great!

I used chicken fillets because I had them (strange because I hardly ever buy chicken fillets), seared in a pan until nicely coloured and covered and placed in the oven.

Mushrooms fried in the same pan, added Marsala, stilton cheese, cream and some butter and then added the chicken fillets, making sure to pour in all the juice from the chicken for added flavour.

Served with broccolini and potato au gratin…just lovely and it almost made me forget the amount of work I have to do this weekend.

Image

3 thoughts on “Freedom, Fun and Formals

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

