Exploding Deep Fried Parsley

White Bait with Pesto and deep fried parsley

Dinner tonight was a blast from the past – quite literally actually – as deep frying parsley almost blasts a hole in your kitchen wall and covers you and your floor in a nice layer of oil, ready for you to slip and break an ankle or a wrist later in the evening. Luckily I already knew this and prepped myself and the kitchen accordingly. (massive towel on the floor and me dressed in a space suit worked just fine!).

Mum used to make this for us as kids quite regularly at a time when white bait was used literally as bait for the local fishermen. You certainly couldn’t order it in a restaurant and pay $32 for half the size I dished up tonight…how times have changed! Looks like the Europeans who came to Australia in the 1950’s were right all along…this is bloody good food!

Feeling a little nostalgic, I bought myself some and indulged in a good ‘ol trip down memory lane. Of course mum served this up with lemon wedges, a plate of home made chips and a tomato salad with some feta cheese…ahead of their time these people, I tell ya!

She also used to chop up a whole bunch of parsley and throw it into the oil once the white bait was done. It was like a mini explosion in the kitchen. Only a couple of seconds in the pan was needed for the parsley to crispen up. She would then scoop it out with a slotted spoon and crumble it all over the white bait, squeeze lemon over the top and us kids would almost kill each other for the last one.

The only thing I did differently tonight was sit the white bait on a bed of wonderful green salad leaves with an amazing fiery paprika and coriander oil I found on my food shopping trip last Saturday and added some awesome tasting pesto.

All I can say is…mmmmmmm…

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Exploding Deep Fried Parsley

  1. i don’t know how I missed this. It looks effing awesome… and tasty too, know doubt. Love whitebait. And school prawns. Have you ever tried school prawns done the same way?? Eat them head and shell and all. I’m getting me some of that action this week…

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

