The Need for Peas

Chicken In a Creamy White Wine Sauce

So, after having Friday off work thanks to this dreaded cold, I went in yesterday…and suffered!

The kids were quiet as they could tell I wasn’t well and they don’t like it when I’m angry. In fact no one likes me when I’m angry! I did however, keep in 3 boys at lunch time because they made my headache worse. No abuse of power here I promise. They were supposed to be working in groups and these three decided it would be funny to pick on the kid in the group who can’t read very well…result…half of their lunch time gone! Don’t mess with me when I’m sick.

My afternoon meeting also didn’t go down very well either. We were working in groups doing what we call a moderation task. This is where we swap essays from kids and mark each other’s work and then compare marks…keeps the marking process honest. Well apparently I’m a tough marker and the teacher didn’t agree that his student deserved such a low grade. Three of us marked it and two of us gave it a fairly average score and the third teacher gave it a much higher score. I was signalled out for an explanation…no depth…no voice…poorly constructed paragraphs….blah! blah! blah!

This process is fine when you are moderating with people who are reasonable but it was clear that this teacher wanted to jump the table and put my head through the wall. It’s not the first time I’ve had ‘words’ with him and he doesn’t like me very much. Of course when I get on my high horse I can come across as, how did another teacher put it? oh yeah! Intimidating and scary…anyway he took offense and I probably should have stayed home. Once my partners in crime and I got back to the sanctuary of our office we let rip about him… “he’s such a dick!”… “doesn’t know his arse from his elbow!” … “I just wanna punch him!” … (we spend way too much time with kids!) In fact it got ridiculous (I think ‘soft cock’ was mentioned) and we found ourselves laughing so hard, we couldn’t get in our cars to drive home especially after I came out with “Yeah! I wanna punch him…in the dick…with one of these…because I don’t really wanna touch him…”

I stayed home today…shouldn’t really be near people!

What does all this have to do with chicken? Nothing really apart from it was the only thing I got right yesterday. Except that I was so hungry that for the first time I forgot to take a photo…and it looked so damn good!

Chicken thigh fillets fried in oil and butter, in large pan until golden. Add fresh thyme sprigs and white wine and cook down. Toss in capers and place lid on so chicken cooks well. Remove chicken when it’s done and set aside. Add cream and wholegrain mustard to the pan and combine well with the white wine. Reduce a little then return chicken thighs and spoon over all the yumminess. Serve with salad or vegetables. I had a major craving for peas so I made a whole bag (peas being the only thing I buy that’s frozen) as well as some steamed baby carrots and corn cobs all drenched in some of the French butter I had left. So delicious and so sorry I didn’t get a pic…

Off to the doctor now and then back to bed 🙂

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

