Eat it with Vodka!

Shepherd’s Pie

I’ve had one of those days…again!

I’m actually quite an intelligent person…no really…I am!

I mean, I can spell and use appropriate punctuation (although I have been known to overuse exclamation marks and …!)

I know the difference between your, you’re, brought, bought, there, their and they’re…never write then instead ofthan..smart right?

I can write an analysis on how language is used to persuade an audience and how the media represents and indeed misrepresents topical issues. I know when I’m being screwed by political double speak and try and teach my students to not be like the masses who constantly react on an emotional and simplistic level on issues and to think and not grow up to be ignorant, bigoted buffoons!

I can do lots of things like that but…I can’t sit still! I can’t allow myself to just do nothing! I manage to sit for 5 mins at a time and then have to move…do something! Even when I’m asleep I’m actually aware that I am sleeping because I’m thinking about it. I know what’s going on around me!

I’m clumsy too. I trip over my own feet and walk into my furniture constantly. My legs and elbows are usually covered in bruises…and all without alcohol…except that one time, with all the dancing and the chair and all that Vodka. Yeah! I fell off the chair and I looked like I had been in a road accident…that was alcohol!

I’m sick OK!

I should have been resting on the couch all day as instructed. My man had done the cleaning, vacuuming, mopping, washed the clothes and brought home some food supplies. I didn’t really have much to do.

I, however, just wanted to bake bread with goats cheese…and I did. I was tired and a little drugged up to be honest so when I was placing it gently in the oven I dropped it on the floor and things just went to shit!

So I made Shepherd’s Pie instead…and it was very tasty, mainly because I didn’t drop it on the floor (although that brings back memories of when I took my lasagne out of the oven and smashed the glass lasagne dish into the side of the kitchen bench…we had take away that night).

I’m now exhausted and feel like ten types of poo! I’ve given up dancing on tables and chairs but I haven’t quite given up drinking Vodka. I just feel a little more smug about it these days because I drink it with Cranberry and Pomegranate Juice.

Cheers to clumsy, hyperactive and drugged up me who can make one kick ass Shepherd’s Pie 🙂

Ingredients

  • 1 tbs olive oil
  • 1 brown onion, halved, finely chopped
  • 1 carrot, grated
  • 500g lamb mince
  • 2 tbs plain flour
  • 500ml (2 cups) beef stock
  • 1 fresh bay leaf
  • 2 tbs Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tbs BBQ Sauce
  • 1 tbs tomato paste
  • Salt & freshly ground black pepper
  • lots of desiree potatoes, whole and unpeeled
  • 40g butter
  • 125ml (1/2 cup) milk
  • Melted butter, to brush
  • Shredded cheese

Method

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion and garlic. Add lamb mince and cook, stirring to break up any lumps, for 5 minutes or until lamb changes colour. Add grated carrot.

Add the flour and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes or until combined. Add stock, bay leaf, Worcestershire sauce, bbq sauce and tomato paste. Bring to the boil. Reduce heat to low and cook, stirring occasionally, for 30 minutes or until sauce thickens. Taste and season with salt and pepper.

Meanwhile: cook potato in a saucepan of salted boiling water for 15 minutes or until tender. Drain well. Peel and return to the pan with butter. Use a potato masher or fork to mash until smooth. Add warm milk and use a wooden spoon to stir until combined. Taste and season with salt and pepper.

Preheat oven to 200°C. Spoon lamb mixture into an ovenproof baking dish. Top with mashed potato and use a fork to spread over lamb mixture. Brush with butter and top with shredded cheese. Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes or until mashed potato and cheese is golden brown.

Eat Baby Eat!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Eat it with Vodka!

    • Cheers! Maybe I should start another blog titled “The Tales of Helen when she was pissed and fell over/off/under stuff!”
      Actually your grammar is not too bad…only a few times I wanted to get my red pen out until I realised that wasn’t going to be very good for my lap top screen.

  1. So very true, although it shouldn’t be dreary here as it’s Spring but hey, this is Melbourne and it was cold and rainy for most of the day, so definitely Shepherd’s Pie weather and as I still have a sore throat, it was easy to eat 🙂

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

