Nothing Special!

Steak with fried Gnocchi

A lot of people post about great food they have had at a great place or about something new they have tried at home and don’t get me wrong, I do that too.

But tonight I’m too stuffed to be fancy. Last nights’ Parent/Teacher Interviews did me in. Having a 70th birthday party to go to straight after this talk fest with parents that finished at 7pm didn’t help. Today I dragged my arse into work looking haggard and after having spoken to 70 parents was not in a talkative mood…difficult when you are a teacher… apparently communication is a key part of my job!

I wanted to be curled up on my couch in my pjs watching the hail come down but I was teaching my Year 7 English class…well, not really teaching as every single kid had their faces plastered to the window watching the hail storm…not much teaching going on. I had no interest in the storm and so just sat in my not too comfy chair and thought about my dinner…steak, fried gnocchi and creamy mustard stuff poured over the top!

I love gnocchi done this way and I like my steak rare and usually like it cooked on a grill but tonight I wanted it just like my mother used to make – fried in a pan on high heat in loads of wonderful butter. My work here is done!

Later tonight I’m going to brew me some strong coffee and finish off that cake I brought home for myself from the birthday party last night – a sponge cake soused in frangelico, filled with nutella and topped with icing sugar – life is much better now!

2 thoughts on “Nothing Special!

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

