Strike! Strike! Strike!

Chinese fried eggs

Victorian teachers are on strike today – second strike in 3 months with another planned before the year is out. Our State Government is run by a clown..a really sad, ridiculous looking clown not your funny, make people laugh type of clown. I now understand why so many people are scared of clowns and don’t like them at all!

Victorian teachers are afraid of this clown. If he gets his way our schools will be worse off than they already are – and that’s a pretty bad way anyway. With all levels of Government taking away money for government run schools and handing it to private schools in order to upgrade their tennis courts and swimming pools, I am left working out of portable classrooms and hoping that I won’t freeze to death before the heating switches back on.

So, as I didn’t get to go to the rally today to protest and was house bound, I decided that my favourite breakfast was in order. Not only is this my favourite food, if teachers continue to be paid as poorly as they are, eggs just might be the only thing I will be able to afford to eat from now on. Of course that is if I switch to low quality eggs that don’t really taste like eggs but more like the greyish carton they come in!

Lucky for me I know how to cook eggs in many different ways. Lucky for me I had spring onions, coriander, chilli and oyster sauce on hand to make these eggs as special as they are. Lucky for me strike money won’t be deducted from my pay until next pay day which means I can still afford a few luxuries.

If you have never tried eggs this way, make sure you do ASAP – I usually make this with steamed rice and place the eggs on top which makes a full meal for lunch or dinner but as it was only 10am I left out the rice and had them on there own. Just as wonderful.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 4 large free-range eggs
  • 1 tablespoon oyster sauce
  • small pinch ground white pepper
  • 2 spring onions (scallions), finely sliced
  • bunch coriander
  • 1-2 red bird’s eye chillies, finely sliced

Method

Heat oil in a hot wok until the surface seems to shimmer slightly.
Crack the eggs into a small bowl, then pour into the hot oil.
After 2 minutes, reduce heat to allow the bottom of the eggs to become firm and crisp.
The yolks should still be runny at this point.
Carefully slide a fish slice under the eggs, lift out of wok and pour off oil.
Return eggs to wok and place back over the heat for another 1-2 minutes to crisp further.
Gently remove eggs from wok and drain off any excess oil before easing onto a plate.
Drizzle eggs with oyster sauce and garnish with pepper, spring onions, coriander and chillies.
2 thoughts on “Strike! Strike! Strike!

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

