Heavenly Herbs

Herb Scones

Here’s another one of those different country, different name things…we call them scones…you might call them biscuits. Here, our biscuits are always sweet with some sort of cream filling, like an ‘oreo’ or ‘monte carlo’ or a ‘tim tam’ etc…we’ve also just started to use the term ‘cookie’ for biscuits that look like cookies because that’s what cafes call them.

Scones have always been scones…something you have with strawberry jam and whipped cream…and of course there are your savoury scones made in the traditional sweet scone shape or the shape I made today. The recipe I used was obviously an Aussie one as they were called scones not biscuits but my friend commented today that I had made wonderful herb biscuits…I get confused but whatever you want to call them I don’t mind because they are wonderful.

I wasn’t keen on the combination of herbs used in the recipe I followed so I used it as a guide and looked through my ever expanding pantry to find spices that I thought would spark these up a bit as I wasn’t going to put cheese in them.

I used all fresh herbs and freshly ground spices and they went beautifully with the dips we had at another girlie get together this morning.

Here’s the basic recipe and I will add what I used…you, of course, can use your favourite herbs and spices.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup fresh parsley chopped
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 tablespoon dill, chopped
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon sweet paprika
  • 1 teaspoon fresh rosemary or 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary, chopped (I used fresh)
  • 1 tablespoon freshly ground garam marsala (you could use ready bought stuff but I always make my own)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 egg, slightly beaten
Method
Heat oven to 200C.
Lightly grease cookie sheet. In a large bowl, combine flour, parsley, sugar, dill, baking powder, rosemary, garam marsala, sweet paprika and salt; mix well.
With pastry blender or fork, cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. (this is what the recipe said but I always use my hands, using the traditional ‘rubbing in’ method).
Stir in milk and egg just until moistened.On floured surface, gently knead dough 10 times.
Place on cookie sheet; roll or pat dough into a 6″ round.Cut 8 wedges; separate slightly.
Bake for 15-20 min or until golden.
Serve warm.
What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

