Seafood Pie


Seafood Pie

I haven’t blogged for a while. I’ve cooked a lot but that’s about all the time I’ve had to spare. Mid year exams and reports are over now, so I will have to go through the last two weeks worth of food and start posting again.

One more week of work and a wonderful 2 week break from school begins! I’m so looking forward to this break. Term two is always a killer. It’s getting colder here too, so stews, casseroles, pies and soups are always on the go at my place.

When my daughter isn’t around, I get to indulge in the things I love to eat. She hates seafood! I love it!

Most people associate seafood with summer but I love a seafood pie. Prawns, Scallops and Calamari Rings in a thick white sauce with leeks, parsley and dill covered with a sheet of puff pastry.

I start off by making a bechamel sauce, adding grated nutmeg, salt and a little pepper. Once it has thickened I add the chopped parsley and dill, cover and leave until I am ready to use it.

Then I add butter and garlic oil to a large pan and add the finely sliced leeks and spring onions and saute. Next I add the seafood and saute until the seafood is half done. I tip this into a deep and wide pie dish and pour over the bechamel sauce, mixing everything together. I add a bit more dill over the top and cover the pie dish with puff pastry and brush the top with a mixture of egg and milk.

Place in a very hot preheated oven and wait for the pastry to puff up and turn a gorgeous golden colour. Spoon into wide bowls and enjoy with a glass of your favourite wine…That’s what I did last night and it was wonderful!

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

