Birthday Pavlova

Chocolate Pavlova

I have posted before about my love/hate affair with pavlova. Just so you know, we are all good now! I’ve made pavs quite a few times now and they have all been wonderful!

It was my birthday yesterday. Every year my partner asks me what kind of cake I would like for my birthday and I tell him and he hunts it down for me. Last year I had a craving for a Continental Cake – Italian style! It was awesome!

This year I left it really late to decide and my partner was starting to worry that there wouldn’t be cake (not so much worried that I wouldn’t have a cake for my birthday just more concerned that he was going to miss out on cake – he loves cake!)

Living in Australia means that we celebrate The Queen’s birthday and enjoy a long weekend…I’m not really a fan of The Royal Family but I do love a long weekend, so they can stay. The long weekend falls around my birthday and as luck would have it, this year, the public holiday fell on the 11th June (my birthday) so I got a day off work – Yay!

For some reason celebrating The Queen’s birthday made me think of Australia and when I think of Australia, I think Pavlova! It was a frosty morning followed by brilliant sunshine – a perfect Melbourne winters’ day – a perfect day for pavlova!

What I had in mind though was not a traditional ‘pav’, but a chocolate one – with raspberries and a drizzle of chocolate. So, I decided it was going to be chocolate ‘pav’ for my birthday. Not easy to find anywhere!

So, I made one!

Hope you like it!

The recipe for this is exactly the same as my earlier post for pavlova but you add 3 tablespoons sifted cocoa when folding in the vanilla extract and vinegar. I topped the pavlova with cream and raspberries and melted some chocolate and drizzled it over the top.

It was a very Happy Birthday indeed!!!


2 thoughts on “Birthday Pavlova

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

