Home made Pizza

Pizza Heaven at Home

Well I’m back and feeling better! I still have a bad cough but am feeling up to cooking again so that’s a good sign.

A friend of mine posted her home made pizza on my facebook food page last weekend and it reminded me that I hadn’t made pizza at home for a very, very long time. Her pizza was topped with prawns and looked fantastic!

I made 3 pizzas last night…one for each of us as we all like different toppings. I’m not a fan of boxed pizza as they are usually greasy and they just never seem to get the base right for me.

When I was in Naples I went to a local pizza place recommended by a travel guide book and it didn’t disappoint. Just your basic Margarita but had the best pizza base I have ever had in my life. There is a place close to where I live that has come very close to this marvellous pizza base and because the pizzas are awesome it is very difficult to get a booking. It’s a small place run entirely by women and is 2 doors down from an independent theatre showing awesome movies. This is my favourite night out but we have to organise it way in advance to ensure we get a booking for pizza heaven before we see the film.

Did I replicate this pizza dough last night?…No!

But they were really nice pizzas all the same!

Ingredients for Pizza Dough

  • 375ml (1 1/2 cups) warm water
  • 2 tsp (7g/1 sachet) dried yeast
  • Pinch of caster sugar
  • 600g (4 cups) plain flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 60ml (1/4 cup) olive oil, plus extra for brushing

Method

Combine the water, yeast and sugar in a small bowl. Set aside for 5 minutes or until foamy. Combine the flour and salt in a large bowl and make a well in the centre. Add the yeast mixture and oil. Use a round-bladed knife in a cutting motion to mix until the mixture is combined. Use your hands to bring the dough together in the bowl.

Brush a bowl lightly with oil. Turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead for 10 minutes or until smooth and elastic. Place in the prepared bowl and turn to coat in oil. Cover with plastic wrap and set aside in a warm, draught-free place to rise for 30 minutes or until dough doubles in size.

Our Toppings

Mine: garlic oil, tomato paste, creme fraiche, gorgonzola, ham, red onion, capers & mozzarella

My Daughter: garlic oil, tomato paste, ham, pineapple and mozzarella

My handsome man: garlic oil, tomato paste, red onion, ham, egg and mozzarella





4 thoughts on “Home made Pizza

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

