Headaches and Chocolate

Chocolate Brownies

If you have been following, you will know that this week has been a tough one at work. My headaches have intensified over the last few days but as it’s now early Friday evening, they should begin to ease off.

I got home and thought immediately of chocolate. As soon as I started preparing the mixture for chocolate brownies, the world seemed like a much better place. As soon as the waft of cooking chocolate hit me, my headache disappeared.

We have heard about the medicinal benefits of herbs and garlic etc, but I truly believe that there is nothing like the wonderful qualities of great cocoa and chocolate to help heal and restore.

I worry about all the allergies and reactions people have to food these days and feel quite lucky that I haven’t ever experienced these myself. I’m pretty disgusted that preservatives and harmful additives as well as pesticides and who knows what else that goes into the food we eat has caused havoc with people’s health and well being.

None of my desserts are eggless, flourless or dairy free. I look for the best quality ingredients and end up paying a fortune. I guess this makes me angry in that supermarkets are more and more selling their ‘own brand’ stuff, caring very little for quality and what goes on our plates…but you already knew that right?

I can’t imagine a world without great chocolate and wonderful food full of flavour!!!

Ingredients

  • 200g dark chocolate, chopped
  •  250g butter, chopped
  •  1¾ cups (310g) brown sugar
  •  4 eggs
  •  ⅓ cup (35g) cocoa powder, sifted
  •  1¼ cups (185g) plain (all-purpose) flour, sifted
  •  ¼ teaspoon baking powder

Method

Preheat oven to 160°C (325ºF). Place the chocolate and butter in a saucepan over low heat and stir until smooth. Allow to cool   slightly.

Place the sugar, eggs, cocoa, flour and baking powder in a bowl. Add the chocolate mixture and mix until combined. Pour into a 20cm-square slice tin lined with non-stick baking paper.

Bake for 50 minutes or until an inserted skewer withdraws clean. Allow to cool slightly in the tin before slicing. Serve warm or cold. Makes 16 slices.

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

