Car Trouble and Nice dinners

Fillet Mignon and Fast Cars

I’ve been driving my partners car for a couple of years now. Mine died and my partner bought himself a new car and passed on his loud, revved up car to me. It’s been quite funny driving it as the engine roars and I feel like I’m in the Grand Prix every time I start it up. It’s set very low to the road and has all the add ons guys love.

The kids at school are always amused that this 5ft nothing teacher steps out of this hotted up machine, and apparently I have a following (at least my car has a following) of a group of young teenage boys who hang around after school just so they can hear the engine roar when I start it up.

It’s been the best car and has been well looked after but it’s 10 years old now and things have started to go wrong. Firstly as a direct result of bad workmanship during a routine car service earlier this year…it’s cost us more than $2000 over the last 3 months to fix a problem that wasn’t our fault…Oh Dear! This is a food blog not a car complaints forum!!! Anyway, for the second time this week I am getting a lift in to work so my partner can get the poor car towed back to the mechanic!

Just quietly, I think the car is reacting to the news that we were going to sell it and buy me a new one so it decided to make life difficult out of feeling rejected at being traded in for a newer model…I think I know how that feels!!!

This has nothing, of course, to do with the fillet mignon I made for dinner tonight. I don’t think that meal felt rejected at all!

Just as my car has been fancied up with extras to make it more appealing so has this steak fillet wrapped in bacon…My car may not be too classy right now but there’s no reason why dinner can’t be!

Ingredients

  • 2 (8-ounce) filet mignon steaks
  •  Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 bacon strips
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 pound assorted mushrooms, such as shiitake, crimini, and chanterelle, stemmed and halved
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped garlic
  • 2 sprigs fresh rosemary
  • 2 cups Pinot Noir
  • 2 tablespoons prepared demi-glaze
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter

Method

Season both sides of the filet mignon generously with salt and pepper. Wrap a piece of bacon around the sides of each steak and secure with tooth picks.

In a large heavy, ovenproof pan/skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat until almost smoking. Place the steaks in the hot pan and cook until well seared on 1 side, about 3 minutes. Turn the steaks over, there should be a nice crust on top. Add the mushrooms, garlic, and rosemary; give everything a good stir. Transfer the pan to the oven. Roast for 10 to 12 minutes or until the steaks are cooked medium-rare.

Remove the steaks, mushrooms, and rosemary to a platter; cover to keep warm. Return the pan to the stove over medium-high heat. Deglaze with the wine, scraping up all the yummy bits in the bottom of the pan. Mix in the demi-glaze, stirring to combine. Put the steaks and mushrooms back in the pan and coat in the pan sauce.

Finish with a couple of tablespoons of butter to make it rich. Pour the wine sauce on top and garnish each plate and serve with baby potatoes or whatever vegetable you like.

Me? I served mine with cauliflower and cheese and I had to have yorkshire puddings to mop up.

2 thoughts on “Car Trouble and Nice dinners

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

