Mid Week Brain Mush

Mini Meatloaves In Pastry

Mid week is always tough and today was no exception. On top of a big day of teaching, the administration decided to have an evacuation drill during my only  free period. I had to hold up a sign and wait for instructions…banged my knee on the corner of the wooden bench seat which really hurt and the weather was cold!

By the end of the day my brain felt like mush and the thought of making dinner just did not appeal to me at all. I’m always going on about how cooking relaxes me and is the best cure after a long tiring day…today I wanted to forget all that and just get take away.

However, for some reason the thought of my brain being mush made me think of minced meat and the idea of mini meatloaves in pastry for dinner made me anxious to get home to cook. A simple recipe topped with a tangy BBQ sauce was all it took to bring a smile to my face…now I’m wondering if I should also bake tonight…such is the pleasure I get from my kitchen 🙂

Ingredients

  • 2 small carrots, peeled
  • 1 small zucchini
  • 550g lean beef mince
  • 70g (1 cup) breadcrumbs made from day-old bread
  • 1/2 small brown onion, coarsely grated
  • 2 1/2 tbs tomato chutney
  • 1 egg, lightly whisked
  • puff pastry

Method

Use the coarse side of a grater to grate the carrots and zucchini. Use your hands to squeeze out as much liquid as possible. Place the carrot and zucchini in a large bowl. Add the beef mince, breadcrumbs, onion, tomato chutney and egg, and use your hands to mix until well combined.

Divide mixture evenly and shape into loaves and wrap in foil that has been sprayed with olive oil.

Bake in preheated oven for 20 minutes and then unwrap from foil and cook for a further 15 mins or until browned nicely.

Remove from oven and allow to cool slightly. Glaze each loaf with warmed tangy (or spicy) BBQ sauce and wrap in pastry. Brush pastry with milk or beaten egg and cook in very hot oven until pastry is puffy and golden. Top with more BBQ sauce.

Serve with mash and steamed vegetables.

2 thoughts on “Mid Week Brain Mush

    • That’s exactly right! You could jazz it up with a layer of sharp cheese or mushrooms or bacon. Most of the time I just make a large meatloaf and cut it into thick slices and layer with a relish and some roquefort and then wrap in pastry. This is just a very basic recipe that you can adapt any way you like.

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

