Risoni (Orzo) Bake

Rustic Dinners

Tonight I changed my mind at least three times about what we were going to have for dinner. I fell asleep after I got home from work and my daughter had a driving lesson and didn’t get home until 7:15pm. I still hadn’t decided and it was getting late. I was just through telling my partner that it looked like a bacon and egg dinner when I spied the packet of risoni in the pantry.

I usually make this as a soup or in the oven with roast lamb but as it was late and the bacon was already out I decided to go rustic and bake this in the oven with chunks of onion and bacon. I used beef stock and tomato paste with thyme and oregano. A handful of freshly grated parmesan and everyone was satisfied.

Ingredients

2 cups risoni (orzo)

1 large onion, chopped

4 rashes bacon, chopped

2 tbsn tomato paste

4 cups beef stock

2 cups boiled water (from the kettle)

1 tspn oregano

thyme sprigs

Method

Brown onions in large pan that can also go straight in the oven. Add bacon and continue to brown.

Add risoni and coat well with the onions and bacon.

Add boiling water, beef stock, tomato paste and herbs. Stir through.

Place in preheated 160C oven. You will need to check this as the risoni soaks up the stock quickly. Add more boiling water if needed. This should take around 15 – 20 mins to cook.

Spoon into bowls and top with grated parmesan. I like lots of parmesan on mine as well as garlic bread.

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

