Any Fish You Wish

Sea Perch, Rice and Vegetables

May years ago I watched a movie with Matt Dillon called “Flamingo Kid.” I loved him back then and I don’t remember much about the movie apart from that he takes on a summer job as a cabana boy at The Flamingo Club and he turns his back on his family to follow some slick dude and falls in love with a girl…and the other thing I remember is the line…”Any fish you wish…”

I think of that line whenever I go to buy fish for dinner. I usually go with a friend on our way home from work and in my head I ask myself, “What are buying tonight? You can have ‘any fish you wish!’ Lame I know but it has stuck with me for many, many years.

Sea Perch was what I bought last week for the evening meal. I love fish with rice and vegetables and sometimes just a green salad. This fish was coated in panko crumbs with parmesan. The rice was steamed in vegetable stock instead of water and the vegetables were stir fried in the wok with a little extra vegetable stock.

Left over fish can be wrapped in a soft taco with salad the next day for lunch and is wonderful!

Ingredients

fillets of sea perch or any other white fillet suitable for shallow frying

panko crumbs

finely grated parmesan cheese

flour

1 egg

peanut oil for frying

Jasmine Rice

Vegetable stock

Assorted Vegetables (in this case I used carrots, red pepper, onions and mushrooms)

Method

Dust fish fillets with flour and dip into beaten egg.

Combine panko crumbs and parmesan and coat each fish fillet well. Once all fillets are coated well, place in the fridge for around 20 – 30 mins.

In the meantime make your rice. I use a rice cooker but you can use whatever method you prefer to make your steamed rice. Using a stock instead of water adds some great flavours to the rice.

Place enough oil to coat the bottom of a large frying pan. My pan was large enough to shallow fry all 3 pieces of fish at once but if yours isn’t just do them individually.

Fry fish fillets and drain well on paper towels. If you heated your oil well enough the fish will not soak up much of the oil at all and they will turn out nice and crisp not soggy and oily.

Heat oil in wok and quickly stir fry vegetables, adding the vegetables which will take the longest to cook first. Once vegetables are almost done add half a cup of vegetable stock and simmer for a minute.

Add the jasmine rice to the wok. Toss rice and vegetables well being careful not to make your rice mushy.

Serve fish with rice and maybe a side of mustard mayonnaise.

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

