Mid Week Chocolate Cake

A Healing Chocolate Cake

My daughter came home from school today having had “the worst day of her life.” If you have a child and they come home and you know something isn’t quite right and they burst into tears, then you understand how much it breaks your heart. I’m terrible as I’m supposed to be strong and offer wise advice or just listen and tell her that everything will be OK but all I really want to do is cry too. I can’t cope when my daughter cries. I fall to pieces myself, before I even know why she’s crying.

My way of coping in a crisis, especially a teenage daughter crisis is to bake a chocolate cake. Believe me it works! Well, it works for me anyway. I’m decidedly cheered up when baking a cake. When I take out a cake that has risen evenly and fills the house with the most wonderful aroma, everything is always better. My daughter is always amused by my childlike love of chocolate cake and it brings a smile to her face. Suddenly the only thing on her mind is when will the cake be ready for frosting.

This is quite different to the old fashioned chocolate cake I made a few weeks ago (another crisis resolved by cake). This one is even better. I like the fact that you add melted butter to this rather than creaming the butter. Everything is simple and the cake turns out light and fluffy. Just what everyone needed on a cold mid week evening to go with our hot chocolate.



Ingredients

1 1/4 cups sugar

1 3/4 cups self raising flour

2 tbs cocoa

1/2 tsp bicarbonate soda

pinch of salt

125g melted butter

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 cup milk

Method

Sift the dry ingredients into a mixing bowl

Add the melted butter, vanilla and milk

Beat together for 2 minutes

Add eggs and beat for another 2 minutes

Place in greased lamington tin

Bake in moderate oven for 35 minutes (170C)

Ice with chocolate icing and dust with icing sugar.

3 thoughts on “Mid Week Chocolate Cake

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

