The Urge To Bake A Sponge Cake

When I started baking

During winter last year I woke up one day and had this urge to start baking. I’ve mentioned before that baking wasn’t my thing and was quite happy to cook anything you could think up but baking made me break out in a sweat.

Not only did I have the urge to bake but it had to be a sponge cake. At the time I didn’t know whether sponge cakes were meant to be easy or difficult to bake so I watched a few youtube videos and chose a recipe I thought looked good.

The result was wonderful and there and then began a new love for baking. I have baked many things since June last year and have had a couple of disasters but not many…like the time I wasn’t wearing my reading glasses and mistook 1/2 cup of sugar for 1 1/2 cups and boy did those jam drops just spread and spread and turn into one big sugary mess!

My partner (bless him) insisted on eating them until I couldn’t cope any longer and threw them out. I have made them since and they were great. I never make the same mistake twice as I always find a new mistake to make.

This, however, has been my favourite (apart from the pavlova, which I’m still really proud of) dessert so far. My mum made wonderful sponge cakes when I was a kid and they bring back really lovely memories.

Ingredients

1/3 cup (50g) cornflour
1/3 cup (50g) plain flour
1/3 cup (50g) self-raising flour
4 x eggs, at room temperature
2/3 cup (150g) caster sugar
pinch of salt

Method

Sift all the flour and salt together. Sift about 5 times. This ensures it is incorporated and aerated.

In another bowl add eggs and sugar and mix at high speed with an electric mixer for about 6 mins. This mixture will triple in size.

Using a flat rubber spatula, add the flour to the egg mixture, gently folding it in.

Gently pour batter into springform cake tin and bake in pre heated oven at 180C for approx 20 mins.

Let cake stand in tin for 5 mins then remove and cool completely on cooling rack.

Using a serrated knife slice cake in half and cover the bottom half with strawberry jam and whipped cream. Place the top of the cake over the jam and cream and dust with icing sugar.

*You can use this recipe to make ‘lamingtons’. You would then bake it in a square or rectangular tin and store it in an air tight container for 24 hours then cut the sponge into squares. Melt dark chocolate and using a fork dip each square into the melted chocolate and then roll each chocolate coated square sponge piece in coconut. These are delicious and when I get around to making them again I will post pictures.

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

