Went out for hair dye…Came home with CousCous

Went out for hair dye…Came home with CousCous!


Yesterday was an interesting day. I was tired, not having slept much at all the night before, and decided that the most I could cope with was colouring my hair. I thought it was best to just stay indoors and not face the public considering I looked and felt awful. I was all set to dye my hair when I encountered my first problem of the day…I didn’t have any hair dye.

Ever had one of those mad dashes to the supermarket (or as I like to call it, ‘the stupidmarket!), dressed in what could pass for pyjama bottoms, scruffy T.Shirt, unwashed and unkept and hope no one notices?…No?…Just me then!!!

Of course, I saw everyone I knew, but kept my head down and pretended not to see nor hear anyone or anything around me. This obviously had some strange effect on me. It caused a strange chemical reaction that altered my hold on reality. Somewhere between the car park and the check out I had totally forgotten why I had left the sanctuary of my home in the first place.

When I pulled up in my driveway, I was relieved that I was once again home and could get on with the business of colouring my hair…except, that wasn’t going to happen, as I hadn’t bought any hair dye but came home with a bag of Moroccan Spiced CousCous instead!

Now, to be honest, it’s not entirely unusual for me to drive to the supermarket for something quite specific and totally forget what it was by the time I got there. Lists don’t necessarily help either as by the time I get there I even manage to forget that I have made a list. What was really unusual about this was the couscous itself…no one in my family except me, eats couscous and I never buy it! I was, however, in the supermarket, calling and texting my friend to find out which aisle that Moroccan Spiced CousCous I had at her place a few weeks back was in. I have no idea how my mind went from hair dye to CousCous but it did and there you have it.

As I had already organised dinner for that night, the CousCous was put on the family dinner menu for tonight. I didn’t care that nobody like it…they were going to eat it..because I had bought it. I also didn’t care that the bag of CousCous said it was great with lamb…we were having it with roasted pork belly and that was final.

So tonight’s dinner was Slow Roasted Pork Belly with Moroccan Spiced CousCous tossed through a green salad. My partner loved it and my daughter picked out each individual lettuce leaf and shook the CousCous off it sending it flying everywhere. I’m sure I saw some bits enter her mouth though so I was ok with that. Although sitting in bed typing this right now, I have picked CousCous out of my hair, which I’m not ok with…

Slow Roasted Pork Belly

Pork Belly

Garam Masala Mix

Olive oil

Salt

Get butcher to score pork belly or if you have a sharp enough knife, do it yourself.

Pre heat oven to 220C

Mix Garam Masala, salt and olive oil together and rub into pork rind making sure you get in between the scored rind. Let pork stand for 30 minutes at room temperature.

Place in oven and cook at 220C for 20 – 30 mins then reduce temp to 170C and roast for 3 hours or until the meat is very tender and the rind has formed a great crackling.

Let rest for at least 10 mins.

Moroccan Spiced CousCous

As this came from a pre packed bag with the spices already in it, there really isn’t a recipe for it.

Place CousCous in a bowl, pour 150ml boiling water over the top and stir.

Let it sit for 5 mins and fluff it up with a fork and tip over large bowl of green lettuce mix.

I don’t think it’s cheating as it tasted wonderful and that’s all that matters to me!

5 thoughts on “Went out for hair dye…Came home with CousCous

    • You really must try it. It goes with so many different flavours. I’ve made it using recipes from my Vietnamese,Italian and Chinese cookbooks. I think my favourite is the Vietnamese recipe. Really is yummy 🙂

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

