Asking for Forgiveness with Chicken Soup

Chicken & Vegetable Soup with Pasta

“Recently I have spent more time writing about food than actually cooking any. My family are getting tired of me…and they are hungry!”

This was my status update last night on facebook. It got a couple of likes and a comment! I realsied I didn’t ‘like’ this at all. I need to cook. I need to feed my family as well as my soul!

Tonight I am asking for forgiveness with a pot of Chicken soup with vegetables and pasta. I feel that a soup like this comes from the heart and soul. It’s restorative and wholesome and to me, it means family. I will also serve it  with parmesan bread slices in the oven so my family will forgive me a lot quicker.

I have stuffed my family with sweets and desserts over the last 2 weeks, trying out everything under the sun. Over the years I have avoided baking as I was never really good at it. I didn’t have the patience for measuring and weighing. However, I found that I was actually more than ok at it so I went on a bit of a bender and baked as many things as I could. I’ve always wanted to just throw together a tray of scones when friends dropped in without having to check and re check the recipe one hundred times and with scones, at least, I’m getting to that stage.

That, however, has meant that my family have been loaded up with butter, sugar, chocolate, cream and jam. They now need sustenance and wholesome goodness. They need to be calmed down and soothed and we can all breath a sigh of relief to the end of my baking madness, for now!

Chicken and Vegetable Soup with Pasta

Ingredients

  • 2 chicken breasts, no skin, cut in strips or cubes
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil and a little butter
  • 1 medium brown onion, roughly chopped
  • 2 celery stalks,  finely chopped
  • 1 medium carrot, peeled and finely chopped
  • corn kernels and red cabbage, shredded
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 litre salt-reduced chicken stock plus 2 cups water
  • 1 cup (125g) risoni (orzo) or other small pasta such as elbows, farfalle, wheels or fusilli
  • 2 large, chopped fresh tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh flat leaf parsley or basil
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • Parmesan Cheese
Method
Prepare and chop all ingredients before you begin so you can just add them as soon as you need to.
Heat oil and butter in a saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and garlic. Cook, stirring, for 3 minutes or until onion has softened.
Add white wine and reduce a little.
Add chopped vegetables and tomatoes and cook until slightly softened.
Add chicken, stock and 2 cups cold water. Bring to the boil. Season with salt and pepper.
Add pasta. Cook, stirring occasionally, for 10 minutes or until pasta is tender.
Stir in parsley and some parmesan cheese.
Serve with more parmesan cheese on top of soup in each bowl.
What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

