Greek Easter Biscuits

So, this is my second attempt at a food blog. The first post on a different blogger was accidentally deleted (I’m still finding tufts of my hair all around the house) and I can tell you that it was the best piece of writing…quirky and well written (even if I do say so myself) so this one is just going to get straight into a recipe and will leave the funny anecdotes for when I’m less homicidal. It was a great introduction to blogging about who I am – a nobody really – but someone who loves shopping for food and is obsessed with my pantry. So, here are the Easter Biscuits I made yesterday. My mum was so proud and dad thought I lied and had bought them. I will take that as a compliment – I think!

Enjoy 🙂

So, it’s Easter time and everyone is all chocolate, chocolate chocolate! Horrible little hollow bunnies that don’t taste much of anything really. Don’t get me wrong, I love chocolate. I love chocolate so much in fact, that I have declared Saturday 14th April “Chocolate Day” for no other reason other than to show how much I love chocolate. My partner and I are going to have a 24 hour chocolate day…see how much I love chocolate? But, I digress and that’s another blog entirely.

This year I am lucky enough to be celebrating 2 Easters (although I don’t think my thighs and arse would agree) so it’s double the chocolate fun. However, when you have a Greek background it’s not all about chocolate. Although I did make a chocolate Easter Egg slice that was simply amazing and will blog that one next week when I make the second one for Greek Easter. There is also room for biscuits and cake with loads of butter, sugar and syrup… I used to make Greek sweets with my mother when I was a kid but haven’t done so in years. Oh sure, we get together every year and bake the odd 200+ Greek Easter Biscuits but that’s not the kind of baking I’m talking about here. I’m talking butter, icing sugar and ouzo and more icing sugar here.

These kourabiedes are amazing. They stick to the roof of your mouth a little and you need to drink a couple of litres of water after just eating one…but what the hell…they’re sooo good!!!

Try this recipe and even though you won’t be able to speak afterwards, you will want to make them over and over and your friends will love them and your family will think you’re just grouse…mine do anyway!

Kourabiedes (Greek walnut shortbreads dusted with icing sugar)

Kourabiedes
Serves 26
Ingredients
250 gm soft unsalted butter
110 gm (2/3 cup) icing sugar, sifted, plus extra, for dusting
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg yolk
300 gm (2 cups) plain flour, sifted with ½ tsp baking powder
90 gm walnuts, finely chopped
3 tbsp ouzo
2 tbsp orange flower water
Method
 Using an electric mixer, beat butter until pale and creamy, then add icing sugar, vanilla and egg yolk and beat until well combined. Add ouzo and combine.
Fold in combined sifted flour and baking powder, then add chopped walnuts and stir to combine.
 Roll tablespoons of mixture into balls, then roll into 5cm lengths and form into crescents. Place crescents on baking paper-lined oven trays and bake at 160C for 15-20 minutes or until just starting to colour.
 Transfer shortbreads to wire racks and, while still warm, sprinkle with orange flower water and dust with icing sugar, then leave to cool.
When completely cool, dust generously with icing sugar.
Walnut shortbreads will keep in an airtight container for up to 1 week.
One thought on “Greek Easter Biscuits

  1. Pingback: Happy Anniversary Baby! | pantryobsession

What do you think? Thanks for visiting :)

